Physical Insights

An independent scientist’s observations on society, technology, energy, science and the environment. “Modern science has been a voyage into the unknown, with a lesson in humility waiting at every stop. Many passengers would rather have stayed home.” – Carl Sagan

Books…

with 4 comments

Are there any readers who have read Richard Rhodes’s famous The Making of the Atomic Bomb? I’ve never heard one bad thing about this book, but I haven’t read it, however, I saw it on sale at the bookstore today, so I think I’m very tempted to go and read it and add it to my collection.

Would anybody care to give me a brief review of it?

Feel free to use this as an open discussion thread on good books worthy of reading, especially good non-fiction works, and especially those about nuclear energy and related issues.

Written by Luke Weston

July 25, 2008 at 2:38 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You might be interested in something about a deadly as the atomic bomb but current.

    cheers
    http://www.theoildrum.com/node/4138/359968

    bill payne

    July 27, 2008 at 11:08 pm

  2. I did a report on it in high school. It was OK if you are a history geek (which I am), but I think it is probably too dry for most History Channel raised folk, who are used to covering history with pretty animations and sound bites. At the same time, its going to be not nearly technical enough for most advanced readers.

    truthwalker

    July 28, 2008 at 6:21 pm

  3. Giving a short review of it would be hard considerign the thickness of the book itself🙂 But I can say that it is one of the best books I have ever read in my life.

    What I enjoyed the most wast the first half of the book that details the birth of nuclear physics and the life of the giants of the time. Bohr, Rutherford, Fermi etc. The book is about so much more than the making of the atomic bomb and that is what makes it great.

    Johan Simu

    July 31, 2008 at 7:44 pm

  4. It’s a good book and I would certainly recommend. His book “Dark Sun” on the hydrogen bomb is also good.

    mike

    August 4, 2008 at 12:16 am


Leave a Reply

