Physical Insights

An independent scientist’s observations on society, technology, energy, science and the environment. “Modern science has been a voyage into the unknown, with a lesson in humility waiting at every stop. Many passengers would rather have stayed home.” – Carl Sagan

A critique of “Nuclear Power is not the Answer…”

with one comment

Some of you will have already seen my little essay/thesis or whatever you want to call it, here.

I’ve been doing some more work on this recently, and it’s considerably further along and more polished than it has been before.

There are some factual claims being made by the anti-nuclear movement that I just don’t think are informed by good attention to science, and this is my main effort at standing up and attempting to address this.

It’s a very long piece of writing, I know. I never thought that it could get that long, but I guess I just refuse to gloss over scientific issues in a half arsed way.

It’s still not complete, there will be typos, bits that need to be edited, and so forth. It’s a work in progress.

Please check it out, and tell me what you think. (Please don’t be impolite, though.)

Peer review, proofreading, “peer review”, checking or critiquing of the science and factual content, and so forth is all very welcome and appreciated.

Written by Luke Weston

August 3, 2007 at 1:44 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Luke, did you ever complete this excellent work in progress? It was very well done and I’d like to cite it for some points I’m putting together.

    Also, the link to your draft in the post is broken for me. Is there a different link? Thanks.

    If it’s easier to respond to me by email, here’s my address: deb(at)nei(dot)org. I sent an email to your address at the university and it didn’t work. Hope all is well!

    david bradish

    November 12, 2008 at 3:17 pm


Leave a Reply

